Archive for November 4th, 2017

h1

Full Moon – Nov. 4, 2017

November 4, 2017

Forest Lake

This month’s full moon is interesting, because it comes close to Samhain. It’s the first full moon of the new cycle, yet its seeds were planted in the cycle that just ended.

I’m considering this a “Transitional Moon.” The ritual I’m doing tonight will incorporate the elements of what I worked on in the Samhain ritual, intentions for the coming year (personal ones, and also ones that encompass joy and justice on a larger scale) with transitions from the old cycle to the new cycle and the fulfillment of what I started on the last full moon, and what I continued to work on while the moon increased.

The longer I do this work, the more I’m grateful for the strict training I had early on, and yet the more I do spontaneous ritual. That means that I think through the shape and what objects, colors, scents, et al I want to incorporate into the ritual, but I don’t actually write down the ritual and memorize it ahead of time. I speak in the moment of ritual. I do write it down later, in my Book of Mirrors (which is different from my Book of Shadows — that’s fodder for a different post).

Because I’ve been doing this work for nearly two decades, my practice has evolved where spontaneous ritual works well for me. Without the grounding of my previous training, I doubt it would. The imagination and creativity can flow because it has a solid foundation.

Rather like writing. If you don’t build a solid craft house, your imaginative work can’t fly.

If you’re interested, there’s a full moon meditation over on Cerridwen’s Cottage. I’ve been talking for years about posting Meditations for Gaia. Instead of starting at Imbolc, which is always my intent, I’m starting with this, the first full moon after Samhain. Enjoy!

My next post will be on November 8, where we celebrate Kami of the Hearth.

